Review on: A Place For Us By Harriet Evans

img_0563

About Author (as seen on the back page of the book)

Harriet Evans grew up in London. As a child she loved reading and making up stories. She then progressed on to teenage geekdom and agonised Sylvia Plath-style poetry it’s probably best not to dwell on. The career in musical theatre she’d always dreamed of never materialised for whatever reason, and so she ended up at Bristol University where she read Classical Studies. In her twenties she was lucky enough to get a job as a secretary at a publishers and instantly realised working with books was what she’d always wanted to do. She was a fiction editor for ten happy years but left in 2009 to write full-time, making up stories all day.

Harriet still lives in London, with her boyfriend and their daughter. She likes old films, property websites, sloe gin cocktails, feminism and Bombay Mix, not in that order. A Place For Us is her eighth novel.

You can find Harriet on:

Twitter @HarrietEvans

Facebook facebook.com/harrietevansbooks

or her website: http://www.harriet-evans.com

ISBN: 978-1-4722-2126-1

Format: paperback

Publisher: Headline Review

Blurb ( as seen on the back of the book)

The house has soft, purple wisteria twining around the door.

You step inside.

The hall is cool after the hot summer’s day. The welcome is kind, and always warm.

Yet something makes you suspect life here can’t be as perfect as it seems. After all, the brightest smile can hide the darkest secret.

But wouldn’t you pay any price to have a glorious place like this?

Welcome to Winterfold.

Martha Winter’s Family is finally coming home.

 

My Review

A Place For Us By Harriet Evans is a book I had brought and had been so patiently waiting on my to read pile! So when it was my next book you can image how excited I was!!!!!

The cover of this book glorious and I completely fell in love with it. With the water-colour effect which I just adored!!!!! I’m a sucker for a beautiful cover me!!!!!! A Place For Us for me has a very strong sence of Family, loyalty, past, present and future, mistakes been made.

We meet Martha Winter’s at the beginning with her 80th birthday fast approaching. She decides on a party; sending out invitations to her friend’s to attend and evening of drinks and glorious food. Martha specifically   asks for the family to attend a family lunch all at her home Winterfold, Somerset.

Speculation between the family members grow; as to what this lunch could possibly mean. This is where Harriet has got me hook line and sinker!! I felt this need to read on to find out what the secrets and lies were! I found the story unfolds in a really unique way, which was so gripping and made for a unput downable book.

I eminently fell in love with in love with each and every character in this book, finding each one captivating as individual characters. This book is full of emotion which is very much shown through her  exceptional writing. I did have a few tears at the sad bits ( so do have a tissue to hand!)

I think its pretty safe to say I adored this book, and go as far as to say I would read it all again.

Marie’s Book Boutique is giving A Place For Us By Harriet Evans a big fat five sparkly stars!!!! If I could give it more I would!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

