Love Quick Reads!

quick reads new chapter

 

Recently I felt the need to pick up a Quick Reads; to get my ‘short story fix!’ ( which I will be reviewing soon!) I first became aware of Quick Reads a few years ago by a family member, as she knew I liked books but also of my struggle with reading. I’m so glad she did because these are amazing books and I turn to them when I feel like I want to devour a book in two sittings; which for me is a triumph!

They are so easy to read, and there’s such a collection to choose ranging from humor, fantasy, true stores, light hearted storys, storys that make you want to read on, storys that take you back in time.

some Quick Reads Titles

I can even say that I have picked up a Quick Read something I would normally have reads something completely out of my ‘comfort zone’

‘A change is as good as the rest’ don’t they say? when I had finished reading said book I was pleasantly surprised that I really enjoyed it! This has tought me a valuable lesion in reading; in that sometimes its good to read something out of my ‘comfort zone’ and that can only be a good thing right? Now when I’m looking for books (which is always!!!!!!!!) I will pick a book up that I would normally pick up to add to my towering to read pile. This then gives me a chance to push my reading boundary’s.

Did you know that 1 in 6 adults of working age, either find it difficult to read or have never even picked up a book. I find this so sad, but I can understand this; with so many other distractions and busy life’s reading is not a proraty to them and if you aren’t a confident reader/find reading hard some people choose not to put themselves through reading a whole book. Quick Reads challenge the stigma with reading as an adult. I really admire there ethos to challenge people s perspective of reading and show them that reading books can be for everyone, and to inspire more adults to read.

Quick Reads was founded in 2006 and funded by Galaxy, Lottery funded Arts council England and World Book Day. Quick Reads is part of The Reading Agency. Each year they commission best selling writers to write short stories. The paperbacks are readily available in book shops, supermarkets and to borrow at your library, they are also available in ebook format, which mean’s they can reach a wider audience. Quick Reads are aimed at adults whether you are a new reader; who hasn’t picked up a book in years, don’t read at all or a reader just wanting something quick to fulfill your reading mind. They have sold and distributed 4.5 million copy’s of Quick Reads of more than 100 titles and 3 million copy’s have been library loans.

The Reading Agency, provide other programs for you to continue to read in the future:

A List of 2017 Galaxy Quick Reads titles

  • Dead Simple crime anthology (Orion)- a collection of crime story’s by 8 writers such as Clare Mackintosh, James Oswald, CL Taylor, Angela Marsons, Jane Casey and Antonia Hodgson
  • Looking for Captain Polack by Rowan Coleman (Ebury)
  •  A Very Distant Shore by Jenny Colgan (Little Brown)
  • The Other side of you by Amanda Craig (Little Brown)
  • Feel the Fear & Do it anyway by Susan Jeffers
  • One Fulse Move by Dreda Say Mitchell (Hodder)

 

This is a great organisation, I really apploard what they do and the message that they put out to try to stop the stigma that some people feel about reading and that there is a book out there for everyone.

If you have any comments of thoughts on this post I would love to hear them!

Happy Reading my fellow book worms!!!!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Love Quick Reads!

Leave a Reply

