Review on A Gift To Remember by Melissa Hill

IMG_0690

About the author (as seen in the book)

Melissa Hill

Melissa Hill lives with her husband and daughter in South Dublin. She is the international No 1 bestselling author of Something From Tiffany’s, The Charm Bracelet and more. Her books have been translated into twenty-five different languages.

 

 

Website: http://www.melissahill.ie

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/melissahillbooks

Twitter: @melissahillbks

Publication date: 2013

Publisher: Simon&Schuster

ISBN: (paperback) 978-1-47112-922-3

(ebook) 978-1-47112-764-9

Format: paperback

Pages: 408

Copy provided by: own brought

Blurb (as seen on back cover)

Daydream believer Darcy Archer works n a small bookstore in Manhattan. Just like the heroines from her favourite novels, she’s waiting for ‘Mr Perfect’ to sweep her off her feet- then one morning, when cycling to work, Darcy accidently crashes into him instead…

As the sharply dressed man is taken away in an ambulance, Darcy is left holding his puppy and a gift- wrapped package. Wracked with guilt, and vowing to set things right, she leaps head first into the world of this stranger: his name is Aidan Harris and he has a passion for books, travel and adventure- and it’s not long before Darcy thinks he could be The One.

But will her fantasy match the reality when Aidan wakes up? and, more pressingly, who was the gift- wrapped package really destined for?

 

My Review

IMG_0697

Now, would you look at that cover guy’s! Isn’t it elegant, with the swirly read writing of the author’s name; it has a shimmering effect which really makes it stand out and gives the cover some prettiness. The title is also in swirly red writing although,  it has not got a shimmering affect which I really think this is a shame; because it would have looked really nice. I really adore the way the cover is like looking into a window; which I found really inviting and helped me in my decision to get this book. The table set up in front of the window the seen is layed out with the gift with red shimmer affect making it stand out boldly! The rest of the objects on the table look like they have been sketch which I really love. The window frame is coloured in a light blue which helps the author’s name, title and other things stand out and there is a red bicycle  lent against the window frame( which I seem to have cut off on my picture sorry!) all of which gives the reader clues about the book; which you relies as you read and I like that a lot!

As soon as I read the blurb of this book; because hey it involves a bookstore and who doesn’t like a bookstore setting?!?! So this another factor in my decision to pick this book up! This the first book I have read by Melissa Hill and I have to say I’m totally sold on her writing, there’s something quite blissful about it!! This story has a classic falling in love and romance, wildly misunderstanding’s with a bit of guilt over an accident, unlikely friendships are formed, family that only want to do the best for their loved one’s, Oh and there’s a cute dog too!

In A Gift To Remember we meet Darcy Archer, who is the manager of a small bookstore in Manhattan. I being a book worm myself I immediately felt a connection with her and then when I read on I know I love the characters loving and caring nature. Darcy wakes up one morning to find she is terribly late for work, it snowing outside and she rides her bycycal  to work. On the way Darcy is in her own little world, thinking about her love story’s that she read the night before and without being able to stop to miss the walking man and his dog; missing the dog but knocking down the man; who is out cold! Darcy cant belive what she has done, she does the formality’s with the police and finds her self left at the accident seen with the man’s dog and a beautiful rapped gift, and not knowing which hospital they took him to.

Darcy is racked with gilt over the accident and makes it her mission to find him, so she could say how sorry she was and to give his dog and present back. When she does find him she finds out his name is Aidan Harris only he can’t remember who he is or where he lives or which whom he lives with. Darcy’s gilt fuels her to find out who this man is and he seemed happy to have some help, as he his mobile was broken in the accident; so unable to ring family and loved one’s to help fill in the gaps. I love these two; willing him not to have a partner because these two were perfect for each other.

I also found Darcy’s relationship with her aunt intriguing like there was something there just had to read on, because Katherine only wants the best for her. Darcy found herself living with her aunt when she was 12 years old after she loosed both parents in a car accident. Her aunt was single and has no children of her own, but her sister had wanted Darcy brought up in the family. Her aunt was really up in the Manhattan seen going to all the glamorous parties and events, which is the total opposite to Darcy but you do see their relationship become more  truthful.

Melissa Hill writing in this book is on the button because she adds turns in the book I never saw coming, so found my self feeling confused as Darcy as to why nobody was not worried about Aidan. This confusion doesn’t last to long as Melissa fills in those gaps and then it all makes perfect sense! A another thing I like that Melissa added in to the beginning of most of the chapters there is quote from books and are relevant to the chapter in some way! Which of course I love,  love,  love and I’ve picked some of my favourites out to share with you know:

‘ Dreams are illustrations… from the book your soul is writing about you’ Marsha Norman

‘ What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us.’ Ralph Waldo Emerson

‘ Books are not made for furniture, but there is nothing else that so beautifully furnishes a house.’ Henry Ward Beecher

‘ Every man’s memory is his private literature’ Aldous Huxley

‘ I have always imagined that Paradise will be a kind of library.’ Jorge Luis Borges ( I like this particular one as I have it on a cushion cover!)

‘ You are braver than you believe, stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think.’ A.A. Milne

The plot to this book is exceptional in my opinion and had me gripped to find out more, I mean ‘Do Darcy and Aidan have a chance to be together?’ , ‘ Is Kathrine holding back?’ , and ‘ Is everything Darcy is finding out truly about Aidan?’ but all this is make clear when you get to the ending. So I can only say that is some writing style you’ve got there Melissa and I’m looking forward to reading a lot more of your books!!!

I think it’s quite safe to say to have nothing but love for this unique and beautifully crafted story!!! and I highly recommend it to you fellow readers!!!!!!!

 

Marie’s Book Boutique gives A Gift To Remember by Melissa Hill 5 sparkly stars

 

5stars

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

