Review on Wild by Cheryl Strayed

CDVM5821

About the author (as seen in the book)

Cheryl StrandCheryl Strayed is author of the critically acclaimed novel Torch and the collection of essays Tiny Beautiful Things: Advice on Love and Life From Someone Who’s Been There. Her work has appeared in numerous magazines and journals, including the New York Times Magazine, Washington Post Magazine, Allure and The Rumpus. She lives in Portland Oregon.

 

 

Website: wwww.cherylstrayed.com

Twitter: @CherylStrayed

Genre: Memoir

Publication Date: 1st May 2012

Publishers: Atlantic Books

ISBN: (paperback) 978-0-85789-776-3

(ebook) 978-0-85789-777-0

Format: Paperback

Pages: 338 pages

Copy provided by: my own copy

Blurb (as seen on back cover)

At twenty-six, Cheryl Strayed thought she had lost everything. In the wake of her mother’s rapid and her marriage crumbled. With nothing left to lose, she made the most impulsive decision of her life: to walk eleven-hundred miles of the West coast of America and to do it alone. She had no experience of long distance hiking and the journey was nothing more than a line on a map. But it held a promise: a promise of piecing together a life that lay shattered at her feet…

My Review

Now fellow readers, this is a genre I do liked to read on occasion. This book seemed so interesting and intrigued me so I knew I had to read this!! I find it really interesting to get a glimpse into someone’s life, after all we all have a story to tell. This may be me being nosy but I find the human race so interesting; like how a person deals with a situation or the decisions one makes. We are all so very individuals after all!!

I had no prior knowledge of this book; so haven’t seen the film (which I like to do after I’ve read the book) the blurb grabbed me straight away, and in a funny kinda way I feel this book chose me!!

I really love the blueness of this front cover its very striking don’t you think? The women standing with her massive backpack, and the scene with a lake and some woods you get a feel for the adventure that beholds in the book.

Wow, what a book!!! Before Cheryl even embarks on her trip, she gives you the lead up to the making of that decision. Not only is she grieving for the loss of her mothers rapid death,  at being married young, returning down a destructive path, before she realises what she has to do for her. When she comes across a book on The Pacific Crest Trail; which runs from the Mexican border to Washington.

IMG_0731

Everyone thinks she is mad to go about this alone, because she was so lost at the time. I can understand why Cheryl wanted to do this; trying to find herself and give her a chance to sort her head out after all she had been through. Even in her darkest moments in this journey you can feel her courage  as you read her writing through out this book.

when she starts the trail she has no idea what she is doing but along the way she meet’s some amazing people who advice her along the way, although some people were not so helpful. ( you will understand what I mean when you read) She struggles with raw feet, wearing the wrong size boots, carrying more than she need’s to and much more, you feel for her achy and raw feet every evening.

I must say I’ve certainly learnt a lot about hiking and camping in the great American out door’s and the journey that Cheryl goes through, its quit something. On starting Wild by Cheryl Strayed I had no idea how amazing this memoir was going to be. This story stayed with me long after I had finished reading it. I really can’t recommend this book enough, it’s epic!!!!

So Today Marie’s Book Boutique gives Wild by Cheryl Strayed a massive 5 sparkly stars!!!!!!

5stars

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

